nomadluv.blogg.se

How to use ical on imac
How to use ical on imac













  1. #HOW TO USE ICAL ON IMAC FULL#
  2. #HOW TO USE ICAL ON IMAC PASSWORD#
  3. #HOW TO USE ICAL ON IMAC MAC#

#HOW TO USE ICAL ON IMAC MAC#

To create and sign into your iCloud account go to “Settings/ iCloud” on your iPhone and iPad, or “System Preferences/ iCloud” on the Mac and follow the prompts.

how to use ical on imac how to use ical on imac

It is used to sign into iCloud on each device that you wish to keep in sync and keep track of your App store and iTunes purchases. To get started, you will need to create an iCloud account. Today I’m going to look at setting up your Calendars to sync between your iPhone or iPad and Mac. This saves you having to re-enter your calendar or contacts data from your iPhone or iPad onto your computer(s), or keep track of which device has the most up to date information. To “sync” means to synchronize your data, so that by entering it onto one of your iOS devices or Mac computers, it is updated to all of them. So that’s the trick to getting iCal to work with iCloud: you have to explicitly tell the application that you’re connecting to an iCloud account, you can’t just let it figure it out automatically.With the release of Lion, Apple introduced the ability to wirelessly “sync” your data between your devices using iCloud. Until I noticed the little telltale “Updating…” on the top of the calendar window itself:Ī few minutes pass - apparently it takes a while to load 14000+ calendar entries! - and my calendar suddenly had everything restored: Problem was, the calendar itself was still empty. Voila! It found a calendar and added it to my Accounts area as I’d hope: Same account info, but this time I specified iCloud and… I went back to the Accounts window and this time clicked on the pop-up menu for account type, to learn that it differentiates iCloud and MobileMe: I was skeptical, so instead I decided to see what options I had during the setup process. What the heck? What do you mean “no CalDAV servers were found for me.com”? Was something broken on the iCloud server already, and for such a basic function?

how to use ical on imac

#HOW TO USE ICAL ON IMAC PASSWORD#

I got to this window:Īnd figured “okay, automatic sounds good, let’s have iCal do the work” and entered my email address and account password for MobileMe iCloud:Ī click on “Create” and it all looks good… Here’s where I took the wrong turn, though. In Preferences (off the “iCal” menu) I went to “Accounts”:

how to use ical on imac

#HOW TO USE ICAL ON IMAC FULL#

Rather than just hyperventilate and collapse on the floor I realized that a) I had indeed made a full backup of all 14000+ events in my iCal calendar and b) it was probably just a configuration change. Needless to say, when you have a full calendar of events, migrate to iCloud and open iCal to see this, it’s not good: To show you what happened with me, I’ll go through the steps that led to the automatic-picked-wrong-service-type dead end, then show you how I fixed it. My suspicion is that it’s because the addresses can now point to either MobileMe or iCloud accounts, but still… What it turns out you need to do is explicitly choose “iCloud” rather than letting iCal automatically figure out what kind of calendar server you’re trying to connect to. Can you say anxiety attack? I suspected you could! 🙂 I went through the same thing when I did my MobileMe to iCloud update, actually, and worse, it turns out that the default action within the newest version of iCal, the one that’s supposed to know about iCloud, ends up telling you that there’s no calendar and no data to sync with.















How to use ical on imac